Thursday, May 5, 2011


The search for the origin of matter involves the comprehension of elementary particle sand with the advent of holism, the venture to know about them required an understanding not only about their characteristics, but also about how they interact and relate to other particles and forces of Nature, in the field of Physics called particle physics. More than 2000 subatomic particles have been discovered so far detected in sophisticated particle accelerators.
These are the most basic physical constituents of the universe. In modern physics, the elementary particles are described by the standard model, categorized in three basic families, the electron- like, the muoun- like and the tau- like. The standard model is the ruling model that describes the world of the subatomic particles and interactions. In the Standard model, the quarks, leptons and gauge bosons are considered elementary particles. Historically, even whole atoms and hadrons were considered elementary particles.
A central feature in this theory is the 20th century idea of "quanta", which revolutionized the understanding of electromagnetic radiation and introduced quantum mechanics. Elementary particles in relation to mathematical purposes are normally considered as point particles, although some particle theories such as string theoryconceive a physical dimension.
Standard model
The Standard model is widely considered to be a provisional theory rather than a truly fundamental one, since it is unknown if it is compatible with Einstein's general relativity. Hypothetical elementary particles which are not described by the standard model, such as the graviton carry the gravitational force and supersymmetric partners of the ordinary particles. This model of particle physics contains 12 flavors of elementary fermions, their corresponding antiparticiples, as well as elementary bosons that mediate the forces.
The 12 fundamental fermions value are divided into 3 generations of four particles each. The grouping include: six of the particles are quarks, remaining six are leptons and three of which are neutrinos and the remaining three of which have an electric charge of -1, the electron and its two cousin the muon and the tau.
Anti participles
There are 12 fundamental fermionic antiparticiples which correspond to these 12 particles distinguished under Antileptons and Antiquarks.
Antiparticles are produced naturally in beta decay and in the interaction of cosmic rays in the Earth's atmosphere. The combination of Particle- antiparticle pair can produce photons, by destroying each other, since the charges of both are opposite and preserved. Although particles and their antiparticles have opposite charges, electrically neutral particles need not be equal to their antiparticles.

No comments:

Post a Comment