Monday, October 3, 2011


Applications are invited from eligible candidates for admission to the M.Phil 
Degree Course of one year duration in the following Teaching/Research Departments and 
in the University College, Thiruvananthapuram, during the academic year 2011-12.  
Candidates seeking admission to the Course should have passed the qualifying 
Examination at the time of submitting applications.  The minimum qualification for 
admission to the Course is a Second Class Master’s Degree in the concerned subject with 
not less than 55% marks, subject to the usual rules of relaxation for SC/ST students.
Sl.No. Names of the Departments

1. Department of Aquatic Biology and Fisheries
2. Department of Botany
3. Department of Chemistry
4. Department of Mathematics
5. Department of Physics
6. Department of Zoology
7. Department of Statistics
8.    Department of Demography
9.    Department of Linguistics
10. Department of Malayalam
11. Institute of English
12.   Institute of Management
13. Department of Political Science
14. Department of Economics
15. Department of Sanskrit
16. Department of Tamil
17. Department of Commerce
18. Department of Philosophy
19. Department of Education
20. Department of History
21. Department of Psychology (Two M.Phil Courses)
22. Department of Hindi
23. Department of Sociology
24. Department of ORI & MSS Library
25. Department of Environmental Sciences
26. Department of Futures Studies
27. Department of Library & Information Science
28. Department of Arabic
29. Department of Optoelectronics
30. Department of Islamic Studies
31. Department of Russian
32. Department of Archaeology
33. Department of Music
34. Department of Biochemistry (Two M.Phil Courses)
35. Department of Geology
36. Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
37. Centre for Performing and Visual Arts38. Departments of Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, English, 
Malayalam, Hindi, Arabic, Philosophy, Economics, History and Sanskrit in the 
University College, Thiruvananthapuram.
The strength of M.Phil students will be in the ratio of 2 students per each 
permanent qualified teacher in the concerned subjects.  The total number of seats are 
including of FIP Quota seats also.  If  adequate number of candidates do not turn up for 
FIP Quota admissions, the same will be converted into open merit seats.  One additional 
seat for each subject is to be created as and when necessary, exclusively for students from 
Lakshadweep and this particular seat is not to be filed up by any other candidate.
Application forms for admission to the Course can be had from the Heads of 
Departments concerned and from the Principal, University College, Thiruvananthapuram 
on request or  by sending a self-addressed stamped envelope, alongwith a chalan 
receipt/DD of Rs.25/- (Rupees Twenty Five only) drawn in favour of the Finance 
Officer,University of Kerala towards payment of cost of application form and 
Registration fee of Rs.150/- (Rupees One hundred  and fifty  only) in all Departments 
except in the Department of Futures Studies.  Chalan/DD for Rs.150/- towards the cost of 
application form and Registration fee remitted together should be forwarded for obtaining 
application for admission to M.Phil Course in Futures Studies.  The completed 
applications for admission should reach the Heads of the University Departments 
concerned and the Principal, University College, Thiruvananthapuram on or before the 
Last date for issue and receipt of 
application forms

                           2 UGC EXAM TIPS
                           3 PHD IN TIFR
Date of commencement of class Tuesday
Date of closure of admission Wednesday
The rank list of candidates shall be forwarded to this Office immediately on 
publication of the same.

No comments:

Post a Comment